Tourism Minister Leo Varadkar Meets New Tourism Ireland Board

09 Feb 2012

Tourism Minister Leo Varadkar T.D. met with the newly appointed board members of Tourism Ireland at their first board meeting in Dublin today. They discussed the forthcoming tourism season and the extensive promotional programme which Tourism Ireland is rolling out across the globe for 2012.

Speaking after the meeting, Niall Gibbons, chief executive of Tourism Ireland, said that the promotion of the island of Ireland as a holiday and business tourism destination for 2012 is now in full swing around the world. Commenting on the year ahead, Mr Gibbons said: “Interest in the island of Ireland remains strong in all our markets and the World Economic Forum has ranked Ireland tenth in the world – out of 140 countries – for marketing and branding effectiveness. 2012 looks set to be an exciting year for tourism, with major events like the grand finale of the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-2012 taking place in Galway and the annual Notre Dame-Navy American football game coming to Dublin’s Aviva Stadium. In the second half of the year, Tourism Ireland will promote The Gathering 2013 to the 70 million people across the world who feel linked by family, friends or otherwise with Ireland. We are targeting growth of +5.5% in 2012; and our goal is to welcome over 9 million overseas visitors to the island by 2015, exceeding the record year for tourism of 2007.”

Newly appointed board members of Tourism Ireland at their first board meeting, with (front) Niall Gibbons, CEO of Tourism Ireland; Tourism Minister Leo Varadkar T.D.; Brian Ambrose, chairman of Tourism Ireland; and Jim Flannery, vice chairman of Tourism Ireland.


Further media information:
Sinéad Grace, Tourism Ireland         
Tel: 087-685 9027

Notes to editors

Tourism Ireland board members are:
Brian Ambrose OBE, chairman
Jim Flannery, vice-chairman
Ciara Burke, health improvement sector
Denis Cregan, chairman, Kerry Airport
Howard Hastings, chairman, Northern Ireland Tourist Board
John Healy, director, Abbey Tours
David Lyle, chief executive, LyleBailie International
Christoph Mueller, chief executive, Aer Lingus
Elaine Murphy, restaurateur
Shaun Quinn, chief executive, Fáilte Ireland
Derek Reaney, development officer, Ulster-Scots Agency
David Rodway, retired marine consultant


Who's Who

Search for Tourism Ireland Contacts